top of page

THE Franklin Street Experience


In 1982, my parents who were attending UNC Chapel Hill at the time rushed Franklin Street together after UNC won the National Championship. In 2017, 35 years later, my brother and I were able to rush Franklin Street together (pictured on left). Carolina basketball is a big deal in my family, so when UNC advanced to the championship game, I knew I wanted to be in Chapel Hill to experience the true March madness. I drove 2 1/2 hours down the mountain on a school night to watch the final game with the most dedicated Tarheel fans I know, hoping that we would be able to celebrate the win on Franklin Street that night. And that we did. After the final buzzer I sprinted out the door with my brother and two best friends to Franklin Street. People were starting fires, climbing street lamps, and singing "Hark The Sound." It was the most incredible experience and the fact that I was able to share it with 55,000 UNC fans and my older brother was extremely special.

Featured Posts
Check back soon
Once posts are published, you’ll see them here.
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page